Windsor Castle's Inner Hall, Which Has Been Closed for More Than 150 Years, Reopens to the Public
Windsor Castle, the centuries-old royal residence, has just reopened the doors to its Inner Hall.
Created in the 1820s by King George IV, the Inner Hall was once used to welcome official visitors to the Castle, but it was closed by Queen Victoria in 1866 and has been used for storage ever since.
After more than 150 years, the Royal Collection Trust funded a refurbishment project for the room to bring it back to its Victorian splendor. According to the BBC, restoration workers chipped off layers of paint to reveal the ceiling bosses, which were created by famed stuccoist Francis Bernasconi.
Now, for the first time in more than a century, visitors will be able to walk through the rooms that link the North Terrance entrance with the State Entrance (where Queen Elizabeth greets her guests). The latter provides a stunning view of the Long Walk, the 2.5-mile path created by Charles II in the late 1600s.
Windsor Castle is one of the Queen's many residences, and she and Prince Philip often spend their weekends there. The castle also recently served as the backdrop for both Prince Harry and Meghan Markle's wedding and that of Princess Eugenie and Jack Brooksbank. The Sussexes also introduced the world to their son Archie in the residence earlier this year.
Windsor Castle is open year-round to visitors, but keep in mind that during official events or visits, some rooms may be closed to the public. View the full closure schedule on royalcollection.org.uk.
*This story originally appeared on Townandcountrymag.com
*Minor edits have been made by the Townandcountry.ph editors