Weddings

These Are the Best and Worst Wedding Dates to Plan Your Special Day in 2018

Double check your calendar before you set the date for the big day.
IMAGE GETTY
Comments

Meghan Markle and Prince Harry are officially engaged and expected to be married in spring of 2018. With their wedding right around the corner, the royal couple have a lot of planning to do, from Meghan's dress down to the exact date of the big day. For anyone else looking to plan their special day in 2018 (congratulations!), here are the best and worst wedding dates to keep in mind.


Best: NOVELTY NUMBER DAYS


Every year has its own list of calendar days that fall into place with some fun number patterns. A few examples are...

Repeat Days
Days where the numbers repeat (i.e. 1/8/18) are not only fun to say and write out on wedding invites but they're also great for anyone who likes when the numbers in calendar dates repeat.

Monday, January 8, 2018 (1/8/18)
Friday, February 2, 2018 (2/2/18)
Saturday, March 3, 2018 (3/3/18)
Sunday, March 18, 2018 (3/18/18)
Friday, May 5, 2018 (5/5/18)
Saturday, July 7, 2018 (7/7/18)
Sunday, November 11, 2018 (11/11/18)

Palindrome Days
A palindrome is a word, phrase, or number that goes the same way forwards and backwards (think: racecar, kayak, and noon). These fun dates work the same way: 
Week of Friday, August 10, 2018, through Sunday, August 19, 2018 (8/10/18 - 8/19/18)

Ultimate Number Day
This day just so happens to be a palindrome and a repeat, making for the ultimate play on numbers for your wedding date: Wednesday, August 1, 2018 (8/1/18)


Best: DAYS THAT ARE ALREADY IMPORTANT TO YOU


If you like to be sentimental, the day you and your partner met, the day you went on your first date, or the day you had your first kiss are all good options to choose as your wedding date. Not only is it romantic, but it makes both dates easier to remember for future anniversaries.


Best: AFFORDABLE DAYS


Keep in mind that the location where you want to have your wedding might be cheaper at certain times of the year over others. The same applies to travel costs for your friends and family, floral costs, and sales on wedding dresses.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

Worst: PERSONALLY IMPORTANT DATES


Before you pull out your calendar and start looking at the list of federal holidays to avoid, make sure you're not accidentally planning your wedding on a close family member's birthday or anniversary.

Days of remembrance, days honoring important moments in your family, and days when other people in your family were married might be off-limits to avoid having two different celebrations on the same day.


Worst: HOLIDAYS & DAYS OF REMEMBERANCE


Getting married on a holiday weekend might seem perfect: everyone has the day off, all of your friends and family can fly in, and you'll have plenty of time to recover from the festivities. But, as nice as they might seem, holiday weekend weddings do have their cons—especially when it comes to the higher travel costs your friends and family will come across, the holidays can be a difficult time to coordinate a wedding.

Not to mention, some of your guests might already have family time or holiday traditions planned, which might result in them declining your invitation, especially if the event will be adults-only. Mother's Day weekend and Father's Day weekend might be exceptions, but be sure to check with your parents and your future spouse's parents first to make sure they don't mind sharing the weekend with your big day. While not all of these holidays are to be strictly avoided, it's important to keep them in mind before you set the date.

New Year's Day 
Monday, January 1, 2018
Valentine's Day
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Chinese New Year
Friday, February 16, 2018
EDSA Revolution Anniversary
Sunday, February 25, 2018
Labor Day 
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Mother's Day
Weekend of May 12–13, 2018
Independence Day
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Father's Day
Weekend of June 16–17, 2018
Ninoy Aquino Day
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
National Heroes' Day
Monday, August 27, 2018
Halloween
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
All Saints' Day
Thursday, November 1, 2018
All Souls' Day
Friday, November 2, 2018
Bonifacio Day
Friday, November 30, 2018
Rizal Day
Sunday, December 30, 2018
New Year's Eve 
Monday, December 31, 2018

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

Worst: RELIGIOUS & CULTURAL HOLIDAYS


It's important to be considerate of religious and cultural holidays you might not already be aware of. If you're planning on having your wedding at a place of worship, it's also important to note whether you're allowed to get married there on your desired wedding date.

Palm Sunday
Sunday, March 25, 2018
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Good Friday
Friday, March 30, 2018
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 1, 2018
Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Ramadan (varies based on the lunar calendar)
Tuesday, May 15 until Thursday, June 14, 2018
Eid al-Fitr (varies based on the lunar calendar)
Friday, June 15, 2018
Eid al-Adha (varies based on each family's observation)
Wednesday, August 22, 2018


Worst: UNLUCKY DAYS


If you or your future spouse are superstitious and worried about whether the date of your wedding will affect the actual event, there might be a few dates you will want to avoid, such as:

The Ides of March 
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Friday the 13th 
Friday, April 13, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Ghost Month
Saturday, August 11 until Sunday, September 9, 2018

This story originally appeared on Townandcountrymag.com.
* Minor edits have been made by the Townandcountry.ph editors.

Comments
View More Articles About:
About The Author
Chanel Vargas
View Other Articles From Chanel Vargas
Comments
Latest Stories
 
Share
From vaccinations to visas-and choosing where to stay-here's a primer for safari newbies.
 
Share
The 19-carat gem that once belonged to the Oppenheimer family sold for over $50 million.
 
Share
 
Share
The CEO of Evident Communications, an integrated marketing and public relations agency, talks about philanthropy and the bright future of digital technology and social media.
 
Share
A new book details Hughes' tendency to manipulate and deceive the women in his life.
 
Share
If it weren't for these revolutionary entrepreneurs, the world as we know it, would've been very different.
 
Share
Plus, the former First Lady reveals the story behind that hug that broke royal protocol.
 
Share
Say goodbye to your flakes and irritation.
 
Share
The 17-piece collection includes one gown that looks strikingly similar to gown the Duchess of Sussex wore to her evening reception.
Load More Articles
CONNECT WITH US